Meet LCEEQ's Steering Committee

Members of the Steering Committee for 2023-25:

Cindy Finn is Director General of the Lester B. Pearson School Board, one of the largest English-language school boards in Quebec. Cindy holds a PhD in Educational Psychology from McGill University and is a licensed psychologist. For 14 years, Cindy was Director of Student Services at LBPSB and was instrumental in establishing the Centre of Excellence for Mental Health which is housed at LBPSB. She is also a founding member of the Canadian School Mental Health Leadership Network, a joint initiative of CASSA and CSBA. Cindy is passionate about student and staff wellness in schools.




Avril Aitken is a professor in the School of Education of Bishop’s University, Sherbrooke, located in Ndakina, traditional unceded Abenaki territory. Apart from working with future teachers, she’s involved in community-based collaborative and participatory projects. Many of these are inspired by the first two and a half decades of her career, teaching at the Elementary and Secondary levels (primarily for the Naskapi Nation of Kawawachikamach) and promoting change initiatives in diverse school board and ministry roles.




Christie Brown is the Director of Pearson Electrotechnology Centre, a Vocational Centre which is part of Lester B. Pearson School Board. With a background as a Science and Technology educator at high schools in both the public and private sectors, she also served as a consultant for the Ministry of Education before returning to in-school administration. Christie now focuses on the vocational programs in Quebec's English Sector, supporting dedicated teaching teams toward highly promising careers. She proudly represents the Association of Administrators in English Schools of Quebec (AAESQ) on LCEEQ, knowing that together we are stronger as a province-wide community.




Mat Canavan is a dedicated educator, currently serves as the Director of Educational Services at the Lester B. Pearson School Board. Mat is committed to fostering excellence in education and plays a role in shaping the educational landscape of the Lester B. Pearson School Board and in the province of Quebec. With a career spanning over 20 years,  Mat has honed his expertise in strategic planning, curriculum development, teacher training, and student support.



Deborah Foltin is the Director of Educational Services of Eastern Shores School Board and a former Vice-Chairperson of LCEEQ. Having served in Quebec’s most isolated regions for over thirty years as a teacher, principal, consultant, and school board administrator, she remains a staunch advocate for students and school communities in the regions. Deb had the honour of sitting on the Advisory Board for English Education (ABEE), providing a forum for her promotion of equity in education across the province.




James Walker is a dedicated School Board administrator, principal, and teacher. Passionate about creating inclusive educational climates and engaging experiences for all students, using data and evidence-based practice to drive decision making, community engagement, and the creation of systems. James has experience in board level administration, school administration, program development, community engagement, and work with at-risk populations. His experience has brought him to the remote villages of Nunavik, working in an urban alternative school, launching an alternative program in a rural area, and working as a principal in rural, community schools. He has been the Director of Educational Services at the New Frontiers School Board since 2018.